Outstanding performers of recent seasons and several newcomers starred at Flack Advisory Bendigo Region’s welcome back track and field meet for under-18s in Flora Hill on Saturday.

Because of COVID protocol, competitor numbers were capped at 50 for the special meet to mark the start of the 2020-21 season at the Latrobe University Bendigo athletics complex in Retreat Road.

Despite the windy conditions, many athletes were not far away from their previous best time in the sprint events or longer-distance runs.

100m and 400m

There were some closely-fought finishes in the 100m heats.

In the first of the men’s 100m contests, Eaglehawk’s Angus McKindlay charged to the line in 12.17 seconds to beat South Bendigo’s James Woods, 12.18.

Other heat winners were South Bendigo’s Oliver Muggleton and Eaglehawk’s William Beaton.

Abbey Conquer from Bendigo Harriers achieved the sprint double as she ran fastest times of 13.55 and 1:03.34 in the 100m and 400m.

Winner of the Geoff Major Rising Star Award for 2019-20, Eaglehawk’s James Bentley marked a fine start in the 400m.The Moama teenager raced to victory in 51.12 ahead of clubmate McKindlay, 51.46. Heat two was taken out by Arshdeep Singh who has crossed to Eaglehawk from South Bendigo.

First of the women’s 400m heats was won by Abbey Conquer from Harriers’ clubmate Gretel Holmes.
Bendigo Harriers had Lewis Gillett and Jackson Eadon achieve a one-two results in the first of the 800m heats.
Joel Riordan from Harriers won heat two as Julia and Giselle Hattingh from Eaglehawk AC were first and second in heat three.

1500 m

Plenty of personal bests were broken in the 1500m showdowns.
Harrison Boyd from Bendigo Harriers beat his seed time by more than three seconds as he won the first heat in 4:38.37 from clubmate Jackson Eadon, 4:41; and University’s Billy Meade, 4:42.
In the next heat, University’s Max Rowe smashed his seed time by almost 15 seconds as he charged to victory in 5:10 as clubmate Mason Woodward, 5:16, was runner-up.


A great afternoon for Jake Gavriliadis from Bendigo Harriers included victory in discus and shot put.
At discus, Gavriliadis threw a best mark of 35.60m as Eaglehawk’s William Beaton, 23.62; South Bendigo’s Jasper Seymour, 23.46; and Amber Fox, 21.26, all performed well.

Best at shot put were Gavriliadis, 13.53, and South Bendigo clubmates Jasper Seymour, 8.98, and Daniel Blake, 8.90.

Long Jump

A brilliant competitor at pole vault, South Bendigo’s James Woods showed his skill at long jump. The Alby Jack Memorial trophy recipient for most outstanding junior male last track and field season, Woods leapt 6.50m in Saturday’s long jump.
The Gavriliadis family was to the fore as Monique was runner-up on 5.49m.
Flight two of long jump was taken out by Eaglehawk’s Alec Colturi, 5.28m, from clubmate Julia Hattingh, 4.19m.


Find the Results (PDF) here >

Looking ahead

Round 2 of the Athletics Bendigo ‘Welcome Back To Athletics’ series will be held at the Bendigo Athletics Track. Competition is now open to athletes of ALL ages aged between 11 and above.

Learn more >