A GROUP of 21 athletes beat their personal best marks or times from the previous track and field season at Saturday afternoon’s running of Athletics Bendigo’s ‘Come ‘n try day at the Flora Hill complex in Retreat Road.

The meet drew 67 competitors as they prepared for the November 13 start to Athletics Victoria Shield League and Bendigo Little Athletics Centre’s season on the same day.

Rundown of entry numbers was South Bendigo, 29; Eaglehawk, 19; Bendigo University, eight; Bendigo Harriers, six; Bendigo Little Athletics, three;  and Maryborough Little Athletics, two.

South Bendigo sprinter Oliver Muggleton won his 100m and 400m heats in 11.31 and 50.15 to eclipse last season’s best times.

A national shot put champion and twice winner of the H.H. Hunter Award as Bendigo’s Athlete of the Year, South Bendigo’s Emma Berg reached a mark of 14.05m at shot put. Her best last season was 12.81m.

Eaglehawk’s David Chisholm starred at 100m and high jump.

It was a memorable afternoon for the Norton family of Aaron and Jayne, and children Jemma and Kai.

It was season-best marks of Kai in the 100m, discus and shot put; as Aaron lowered his 1500m time.

Jayne Norton marked a best of 29.61m at discus as Jemma achieved bests in 100m and shot put.

Eaglehawk athletes to break season bests were Laura Kadri, 100m and 400m; Antony Langdon, 100m; Leah Langtree, 1500m and discus; Lily and Rosy Marsh, 100m and 400m.

A great run for South Bendigo included Peta Dawe, discus; Amber Fox, discus and shot put; Jessica Grigson, 100m; Abbey Hromenko, 100m and shot put; Rhys Lias, 400m.

The Seymours were in fine form as Jasper marked season-bests in discus and shot put; and Keenan in the 400m.

It was a triple for Neil Shaw from Bendigo Harriers as he achieved bests in the 400m, discus and shot put as clubmate Geoff Jordan also started well in a season where the club marks its 100th birthday by starring in the 100m and shot put.

University’s Billy Meade won the 3000m as Lewis McIntosh, Jim Russell and Grace Mulqueen performed well for Bendigo University.