SOUTH Bendigo young gun Logan Tickell broke a Flack Advisory Bendigo Region athletics record in the latest round of the Tuesday Night Track Series at Flora Hill.

Tickell’s brilliant 3000m victory was the highlight of round two in the 2020-21 series raced at the Latrobe University Bendigo athletics complex.

A time of 9 minutes 41.20 seconds for the 7.5 lap race broke the region’s under-14 record of 9:43.04 set by South Bendigo clubmate Archie Reid on November 22, 2014.

In Tuesday’s race it was Tickell and the son-father combination of Billy and David Meade which led the way.

Approaching the final lap it was Billy Meade who was gaining ground on Tickell, but the leader from the gun was fired upped his workrate to achieve a hard-earned victory.

A double-fist pump just metres from crossing the line was a sign of how much the victory and the record meant.

Among those trackside for the race were Logan’s dad, Lucas – a national junior champion – who also earned the Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund in the Bendigo Sports Star of the Year awards.

Heat two on Tuesday night was won by South Bendigo’s Aaron Norton from the consistent Anne Buckley of Bendigo Harriers and Yvette Palmer.

Results from Tuesday night’s mixed 3000m:

Heat one: Logan Tickell 13, South Bendigo 9:41.20; Billy Meade 15, Bendigo University 9:48.29; David Meade 50, Bendigo University 9:58.44; Bernard Nihill 15, SB 10:11.92; Mychael Baker 24, Bendigo Harriers 10:25.50; Brian Watson 49, Uni. 10:42.91; Jake Rusbridge 22, Eaglehawk 10:50.39; Mason Woodward 13, Uni. 11:10.78; Thomas McArthur 13, SB 11:51.99.

Heat two: Aaron Norton 41, SB 11:54.66; Anne Buckley 53, BH 12:23.73; Yvette Palmer 29, BH 12:56.42; Ebony Woodward 12, Uni. 12:58.27; Charles Chambers 66, Uni. 13:21.17; Casey Crapper 33, Eh 14:00.74; Ross Douglas 54, Uni. 14:37.01; Ian Fookes 70, BH dnf.