ATHLETES face a change of venue when the Bendigo Bank Dragon Mile marks a return on Easter Sunday.

Despite no Easter Parade, the Bendigo Harriers Athletics Club will run the event for schools at Athletics Bendigo headquarters in Retreat Road, Flora Hill on April 4.

Reduced sponsorship has led to no open-age races, but the Harriers were keen to have the Dragon Mile in some form.

Intersport Bicknell’s has also kicked in as a major backer of the Easter tradition.

The Dragon Mile was first run in 1987.

The Schedule

  • Racing for this year begins with the 800m for grade four and under girls at 10am.
  • The grade four and under boys 800m will start at 10.45am.
  • From 11am the 1600m, Mile distance races will be contested.
  • Categories for boys and girls are grades 5-6, years 7-8, years 9-10, and years 11-12.

Register Now:

Bendigo Harriers Athletics Club’s 100-year celebration

The Dragon Mile kicks off the Bendigo Harriers Athletics Club’s 100-year celebrations. The 2020-21 track and field season was one of the club’s best as it took out division three and has earned promotion for the next AVSL campaign. Club president Geoff Jordan said there had been many highlights in the past year.

“We have rebuilt membership and participation in cross-country and track and field,” Jordan said. “Despite there being no cross-country races because of COVID, the virtual cross-country season was hugely successful.”

A long-awaited return to cross-country racing for the Harriers will be made on April 17.

“Numbers for track and field were up and there were so many positives.

“Medals were won by club members at state and country championships, and records broken.”

The Harriers were fifth in the race for overall team honours at the Victoria Country track and field titles in Ballarat.

“The 5km Frenzy was a new event on the club calendar and is something the City of Greater Bendigo, sponsors, athletes and the club are keen to run again.”

President of the Harriers for six of the past eight years, Jordan will take a break from the top role to concentrate on coaching and building club membership.

At last Saturday’s season wind-up, he presented the Adrian Trounson Memorial award for outstanding service to Dunolly-based Frank Gavriliadis for his coaching and officiating.

There were many superb performances by Harriers athletes in the AVSL track and field action.

The consistency of many club members to compete each week played a key role in the club’s fight to earn promotion to division two.

Club awards, based on points from AVSL events, were presented at last Saturday’s season celebration.

Bendigo Harriers Track award winners:

Under-14: Charli McInerney, Joel Riordan.

Under-16: Caitlin Evans, Joshua Evans.

Under-18: Abbey Conquer, Jackson Eadon.

Under-20: Ruby Hore.

40-years: Rebecca Soulsby, Neil Shaw.

50-years: Anne Buckley, Eric Baker.

60-years: Geoff Shaw.

Open: Claire McCay, Lachlan Carr.

Field award winners:

Under-14: Zoe Di Camillo, Liam Shadbolt.

Under-16: Harriet Gall, Jake Gavriliadis.

Under-18: Monique Gavriliadis.

Under-20: Ruby Hore.

40-years: Toni Phillips, Neil Shaw.

50-years: Geoff Jordan.

60-years: Geoff Shaw.

Open: Claire McCay, Lewis Cain.