Welcome to the 2019 - 20 Bendigo Region Presentations



Thank-you to the sponsors who have assisted athletics in the Bendigo **Region this** season.





FLACK ADVISORY





















Purtill's Nursery Pty. Ltd.



2019 - 20 'Geoff Major' RISING STAR James Bentley EAH



PREVIOUS WINNERS

2018/19 James Woods 2017/18 Yazmin Hayes 2016/17 Taryn Furletti 2015/16 Fraser Symons 2014/15 Jemuel Pryse & **Christopher Browne** 2013/14 Matthew Heislers 2012/13 Carlie Whitford 2011/12 Blake Pryse & **Emily Lawson** 2010/11 Brigette Dillon 2009/10 Madeline Lawson 2008/09 Sophie Taylor 2007/08 Luke Pickthall & Tanya Higgs



2019 - 20 Outstanding Achievement Awards Kye Mason EAH

Kye was late commencing his summer season following injury at the Oceania Championships in Townsville in July.

- He won the Under 20 100m (10.91) and 200m Sprint Double at the Victorian Countries.
- Silver Medal on the Victorian Under 20 Championships in 100m time 10.83 and 3rd in the 200 in strong fields.

His progression of performances over the season and consistently running sub 11 seconds had him set up for a some good results at the Nationals.

ALBY JACK MEMORIAL 2019 - 20 'MOST OUTSTANDING JUNIOR MALE' James Woods SBE

James commenced his season in July when he represented the Regional Australia Team at the Oceania Championships in Townsville.

Highlights of James' season were;

- Gold Medal Under 18 Pole Vault at the National Allschools in Perth with jump of 4.80 metres (Bendigo Open Record).
- Gold Medal Open (4.80 metres) and Under 20 Pole Vault at the Victorian Championships.



PREVIOUS WINNERS

2018/19 Kye Mason & Jayden Padgham 2017/18 Kyle Murphy 2016/17 Kyle Murphy & **Christopher Browne** 2015/16 Cooper Saunders 2014/15 Luke Rowlatt 2013/14 Jemuel Pryse 2012/13 Blake Pryse 2011/12 Kye Jenkyn 2010/11 Matthew Cindric 2009/10 Shaun Geraghty 2008/09 Josh Pickthall 2007/08 David Kinnersley 2006/07 Kyle Bryant 2005/06 Josh Shaw 2004/05 Callum Healey

ANNE FLACK MEMORIAL 2019 - 20 'MOST OUTSTANDING JUNIOR FEMALE'

Emma Berg SBE

Emma commenced her season in July when she represented Australia at the Oceania Championships in Townsville winning the Under 20 Shot Put Gold Medal.

Highlights of Emma's season were;

- Gold Medals Open and Under 20 Shot Put and Discus at the Victorian Country Championships. Best Put of 14.52 metres was a 28 cm PB over her winning Nationals Open performance last season.
- Gold Medal Under 20 Shot Put Silver Open Shot Put at the Victorian Championships

Othletics Dendigo

PREVIOUS WINNERS

2017/18 Tullie Rowe 2017/18 Taryn Furletti 2016/17 Emma Berg & **Teleah Hayes** 2015/16 Zahra Hayes 2014/15 Carlie Whitford 2013/14 Emily Lawson 2012/13 Zoe Boldiston 2011/12 Madeline Lawson 2010/11 Sophie Taylor 2009/10 Sophie Taylor 2008/09 Denise Snyder 2007/08 Denise Snyder 2006/07 Jessica Rothwell 2005/06 Danielle Dillon **2004/05 Brittany Eastman**

2019 - 20 'H. H Hunter' Athlete of the Year

Sponsored by the Gill Family Andy Buchanan BUE

Andy again had an outstanding year of competition on the Road and Track .

- He won the Athletics Victoria Open Men's XCR Award which included winning the State 15km Road Championships in Ballarat.
- Silver Medal at National Cross Country
- Broke the Bendigo Regional 10,000m record at Zatopek 10 in 28.26.14
- Won a major Half Marathon in Japan to be 4th Ranked Australian for 2019 in 1:02:50 which earnt him selection in the Australian Team for the World Half Marathon Championships in Poland



PREVIOUS WINNERS

2018/19 Emma Berg 2017/18 Andy Buchanan 2016/17 Joseph Baldwin 2015/16 Joseph Baldwin 2014/15 Blake Pryse 2013/14 Emily Lawson 2012/13 Blake Pryse 2011/12 Sophie Taylor 2010/11 Sophie Taylor 2009/10 Sophie Taylor 2008/09 Denise Snyder 2007/08 Denise Snyder 2006/07 Jessica Rothwell 2005/06 Duane Cousins 2004/05 Annabel Thomson 2003/04 Annabel Thomson 2002/03 Clare McKechnie 2001/02 Tim Driesen

FLACK ADVISORY





















Purtill's Nursery Pty. Ltd.