# Welcome to the 2019 - 20 Bendigo Region Presentations



Thank-you to the sponsors who have assisted athletics in the Bendigo **Region this** season.



# FLACK Advisory









**Bendigo Bank** 











Purtill's Nursery Pty. Ltd.

## THE GRAND PRIX

## 2019 - 20 Bendigo Region

The scoring rounds are the 12 Shield rounds. Additional Rounds may be included if cancellations. The WAVA percentages are to be used to score the performances. Best 5 of 6 rounds count for each event; and then Top 3 events count. e.g. If top three events in Throws are Shot Put, Hammer and Javelin they are athletes score. THANK YOU TO OUR 4 SPONSORS





#### **Sprints Grand Prix** 100m, 200m, 400m, Sprint and Lap Hurdles

# 1st James Bentley69462nd David Chisholm67703rd Angus McKindlay6407



EAGLEHAWK FLORAL BOUTIQUE

**Inletics** 

Dendigo

#### Throws Grand Prix Javelin, Discus, Shot, Hammer

### 1<sup>st</sup> Terry Hicks 7015

2<sup>nd</sup> Emma Berg 6743

3<sup>rd</sup> Olivia Graham 6311









## Jumps Grand Prix

Long Jump, Triple Jump, High Jump, Pole Vault

1<sup>st</sup> Geoff Shaw 6100

2<sup>nd</sup> James Woods 5403

3<sup>rd</sup> Jessica Grigson 5317

## **INTERSPORT**<sup>®</sup> BICKNELLS

Middle - Long Distance Grand Prix

800m, 1500m, 3000m/5000m, Steeple, Walks

1<sup>st</sup> Tullie Rowe 5155

2<sup>nd</sup> Anne Buckley 4760

3<sup>rd</sup> Debbie Kirne 4527



**Inletics** 

Dendigo

#### ALLEN STUCHBERY MEMORIAL MALE & FEMALE AGGREGATE AWARDS



These will be determined by the AV Shield points system and looking for OUTSTANDING, CONSISTENT, AND ATHLETES WHO COMPETE ON A REGULAR BASIS. Allen Stuchbery (8.3.1922-26.7.1993). In 1938, Allen joined the Victorian Railways Institute Amateur Athletics Club. In 1939, at the age of 17, he won the Victorian Junior 3 mile and 1-mile championships. His athletics was interrupted with World War II until he won the South Australian 1 mile and 1/2 mile championships setting new state records. His best for 800m was 1:56:5. The 1956 Melbourne Olympics stirred him to renew his interest and with Ray Foley started up the South Bendigo Amateur Athletics Club and was their first coach. Around 1964, he and Trevor Billingham initiated Bendigo Little Athletics, with Allen being the first president. In 1970, Allen won the National 40 and over 10 mile title and finished fourth in an Open marathon with a time of 2hrs 43min. In the years following, Allen's heart deteriorated which culminated with open-heart surgery in 1984. Allen returned to athletics with field events in the 1990's and had success winning medals at the Masters games in distant events.



#### ALLEN STUCHBERY MEMORIAL MALE & FEMALE AGGREGATE AWARDS

#### Female Winner Allie Guillou

- **2. Emma Orme 13019**
- **3. Jorga Morrison 12784**

#### Male Winner Dave Chisholm20578

14558

- **2. Terry Hicks 17643**
- 3. Antony Langdon 14951





## 2019 - 20 AWD Athlete of the Year TIM SULLIVAN

Awarded to the AWD athlete who consistently attends AV Shield or XCR meets and displays excellence and commitment to Athletics.

Tim Sullivan has once again displayed his speed over the 100, 200 and 400 metres throughout the season.

Even though now in his 40's, Tim continues to show the ability and dash that won him 10 Para Olympic Gold Medals.

#### 2019 - 20 'Charlie Nolan' Official of the Year

## **CRAIG GRAHAM**



#### **PREVIOUS WINNERS**

2018/19 Sam Graham 2017/18 Josh Savage 2016/17 Trudy Hromenko 2015/16 Garnet Rodda 2014/15 Wolf Heiden Nathan Dole 2013/14 Peter Hayes 2012/13 Bill Trew 2011/12 Josh Savage 2010/11 Ian Carmichael 2009/10 Wayne Forbes 2008/09 Bill Trew 2007/08 Peter Barrett 2006/07 Nathan Dole 2005/06 Wayne Forbes 2004/05 Peter Barrett 2003/04 Laurie Preston 2002/03 Garnet Rodda

#### Sally Conroy Memorial Female Contributor of the Year

## PAM FARNELL



#### **PREVIOUS WINNERS**

2018/19 Pam Farnell 2017/18 Wendy Ennor 2016/17 Pam Farnell 2015/16 Kerry Cooper 2014/15 Leanne Hulme 2013/14 Tennelle Hill 2011/12 Wendy Ennor 2009/10 Cheryl Curnick 2008/09 Zoe Schenker 2007/08 Zoe Schenker 2006/07 Barb Cornell 2005/06 Cheryl Curnick 2004/05 Cheryl Curnick 2003/04 Kathy McEwan

#### 2019 - 20 'Neil Macdonald' Veteran Athlete of the Year

## **KATHY HEAGNEY**

Kath is a world class masters athlete with many medals and records to show for her career which shows no sign of slowing down. As can be seen from her results in the Age Graded awards, her percentage of performance across sprints and middle distance events is outstanding.

Her performances across all events at the Country Championships against younger competitors winning many medals and topping her year off with a much sort after steeple record got her this award amongst a number of very talented Masters athletes competing with Bendigo Region clubs.



**PREVIOUS WINNERS** 

2018/19 Geoff Shaw 2017/18 Geoff Shaw **2016/17** Barbara Bryant 2015/16 Barbara Bryant 2014/15 Greg Hilson **2013/14** Charles Chambers 2012/13 Mike Beleiny 2011/12 Kathryn Heagney 2010/11 Michelle Stevenson 2009/10 Charles Chambers 2007/08 John Justice 2006/07 Carol Coad 2005/06 Terry Hicks 2004/05 Charles Chambers 2003/04 Neil Macdonald 2002/03 John Justice 2001/02 Noil Macdonald

# FLACK Advisory









**Bendigo Bank** 











Purtill's Nursery Pty. Ltd.