A GROUP of 14 from Flack Advisory Bendigo Region featured in the top 99 of the Most Valuable Athlete standings in the weekend’s third round of AV Shield League.

Eaglehawk’s brilliant form put the Blues first in the division two points tally.

Among the many highs for the Hawks at the La Trobe University Bendigo athletics complex in Flora Hill was the record-breaking run by Kathryn Heagney in the 200m. This follows a 400m record Kathryn set last weekend.

Eaglehawk’s tally of 20,966 points meant it won a closely-fought duel with Keilor St Bernard’s.

A key figure on and off the track for Eaglehawk AC and for Athletics Bendigo, Terry Hicks scored 1309 points to be seventh in the MVA standings.

Eaglehawk clubmates to star were Jorja Morrison, 1265, 9th; David Chisholm, 1200, 18th; William Beaton, 1157, 28th; Lily Marsh, 1028, 71st; and Hunter Staples, 1001, 81st.

Bendigo Harriers put in another fine effort to be third in division three on 10,641 points as Casey-Cardinia and Wyndham led the way.

South Bendigo’s tally of 20,184 points earned sixth place in Premier division where Essendon, Box Hill and Doncaster starred.

Bendigo University was 10th in division four.

The Emonson brothers were again in hot form as they competed for South Bendigo.

Best for those in the red and white were Jonah Emonson, 1214, 18th; Joan Self, 1103, 39th; Noah Emonson, 1036, 68th; Joshua Emonson, 1021, 75th; Abbey Hromenko, 981, 89th; and Carol Coad, 967, 99th.

The Gavriliadis siblings, Monique and Jake scored 1192 and 1079 points to be 21st and 45th on the MVA list on another great afternoon for Harriers.

The round drew 88 competitors to LUBAC in Retreat Road. Breakdown of athlete numbers was 34 South Bendigo; 30 Eaglehawk; 20 Bendigo Harriers; 2 Invitation; 1 Athletics Chilwell; 1 Bendigo University.

Saturday’s meet marked the return of Moama young James Bentley to compete for Eaglehawk.

Sidelined by a foot injury for several weeks, Bentley achieved a superb mark of 31.96 metres at discus.

The afternoon for last season’s recipient of the Geoff Major Rising Star award began with a 200m duel in which South Bendigo’s Oliver Muggleton won in 22.73 from Eaglehawk’s Kye Mason, 22.75; Bentley, 22.80; and South Bendigo’s James Woods, 23.71.

Other stand-out performers included Athletics Chiwell’s Emma Peters at discus; South Bendigo’s Peter Curtis and Jennifer Payne, 2000m walk; Jake Hilson, 800m; and Logan Hromenko at pole vault.

View the full results >


Looking ahead: 10,000m event under lights on December 22

Meanwhile, Athletics Bendigo will host a 10,000m run on December 22 as part of the Tuesday Night Series at LUBAC.

A goal is to run several heats which are capped at 10 per heat, with a maximum of 40 competitors allowed.

Timetable for this Athletics Australia-sanctioned event is men’s 3000m at 6.45pm; women’s 3000m at 7pm; women’s or mixed 10,000m at 7.20pm; and men’s 10,000m at 8.10pm.